They Fight for Our Freedoms?

Standard

u.s. flag and ribbonI sincerely do not want to step on anyone’s toes with today’s post. It regards a question that is near and dear to my heart and is also one that deserves to be discussed.

I was born in the late 80’s. I’ve heard since I can remember that the U.S. military fights for/defends our freedoms. But as I think of the military conflicts that have happened during my lifetime, I’m wondering if any one of them was truly a threat to my own freedom. Take a look at Wikipedia’s page listing the Timeline of United States Military Operations. It’s astounding how many there have been.

What also is quite telling is how few of them had anything to do with protecting Americans on US soil (embassy subtleties aside). Indeed, I don’t think any Afghan, Iraqi, Somalian, Bosnian, Haitian, Filipino, Libyan, Pakistani, Ugandan, etc. has ever been a direct threat to my freedom. And yet trillions of dollars and thousands of American lives have been consumed because of conflicts involving these people.

So, it leads me to the question: does the U.S. military really fight for our freedoms?

5 responses »

  1. Tate, Good article or comment. I don’t think anyone can claim these wars were beneficial to them and their safety.

    Later, Love, Dad

    • Thanks for the response.

      As you know, I think this is a very important discussion to have but is very difficult to start. The military is probably the most revered public institution in America. Questioning the idea that they fight for our freedoms is not unlike blasphemy to many people. But if we really care about the well-being of military personnel, as well as all human life, I would think we wouldn’t want them to be put in harm’s way for no good reason.

  2. Would you rather have had the conflicts on US soil to “prove” they’re fighting for your freedom? You don’t think there was/is a threat to your freedom after Pearl Harbor or 9-11 or any of the myriad recent attacks on US soil by people who don’t think you should have your freedoms or worship as you choose, or say what you want or live where you want or have the ability to defend yourself? So your philosophy is “I’m lucky enough to be a free American, sucks to be the rest of you?” Do you realize how much of the world is/was free because of OUR commitment to freedom and defending other’s right to have freedom as well?

    • Susan,

      Thank you for commenting.

      “Would you rather have had the conflicts on US soil to “prove” they’re fighting for your freedom?”

      What conflicts do you believe would have happened on US soil but for the actions of the US military? I don’t think any Vietnamese, Afghan, Iraqi, Somalian, Libyan, etc. had both the will and ability to attack Americans on US soil such as to justify US intervention in their countries.

      “You don’t think there was/is a threat to your freedom after Pearl Harbor or 9-11 or any of the myriad recent attacks on US soil by people who don’t think you should have your freedoms or worship as you choose, or say what you want or live where you want or have the ability to defend yourself?”

      I did mention in the post that I was considering conflicts during my lifetime, which the attack on Pearl Harbor was not. Actually, the biggest threat to my freedom after 9-11 has been the response of the US government. As I’m sure you are aware, this event has been used to justify the near total evisceration of the 4th Amendment, including making airports a Constitution-free zone, allowing the NSA to spy on millions of Americans, the NDAA of 2012 “authorizing” the US President to indefinitely detain anyone he wants (in addition to believing he can assassinate by drone anyone he sees fit). The people of the US government, more than any foreigner, want to take away my freedoms (whatever remain).

      So your philosophy is “I’m lucky enough to be a free American, sucks to be the rest of you?”

      I’m not sure what this means, but I certainly wish I were a free American. There has been a rising trend of about 1,200 people each year renouncing their US citizenship in order to be able to find greener (and freer) pastures. The US continues to slide down the index of economic freedoms. It has the highest corporate tax rate in the world. It is one of the only first-world governments that tries to tax overseas income (not even the French do that). And please don’t take this as a rant against “America,” because I love America. To me, America is wherever a united people stand in favor of limited government, economic freedom, and true free markets. The US government has been the greatest enemy to America.

      “Do you realize how much of the world is/was free because of OUR commitment to freedom and defending other’s right to have freedom as well?”

      I suppose I don’t. Please tell me.

  3. Pingback: “I risked my life in Iraq so people like you could say s*** like that!” | Liberty Couch

Leave a Reply

